Skip to content

How to use

  1. How to Log In
  2. What is a Pipe
  3. Getting around the app
  4. Cloudpipes screen
  5. Dropbox screen
  6. Transfers screen
  7. Adding a pipe
  8. Advanced Pipe options
  9. Editing a pipe
  10. Deleting/Removing a pipe
  11. Creating a shortcut
  12. Clearing transfer history
  13. Stopping transfers
  14. Launching downloaded/uploaded files
  15. Settings screen
  16. Limitations

This section explains how to use the Cloudpipes Android application.

 

Logging In:


When you run the app for the first time you will see the login screen:

You do not need to enter your Dropbox username and password in Cloudpipes. When you press login, it will open the official dropbox application if it is installed, otherwise it will open a the official dropbox website in a web browser. Once you log in there, and allow Cloudpipes access, you will return to Cloudpipes – logged in.

What is a Pipe:


A pipe links a remote folder on your dropbox to a local folder on your device. This link may be set up that files in the remote folder can be downloaded locally, or files may be uploaded to the specified dropbox folder. This creates an invisible link between the two locations that transparently transfers the files without need for any intervention from the user. For example. it can be set up to transfer your camera photos every night to dropbox. Similarly it can be used to download a music playlist every morning ready for you when you go out.

Getting around:

There are three main pages on the app:  Cloudpipes, Dropbox, Transfers

The title bar contains two icons. One is for the most common action (for the current page), and the other is the overflow icon, that displays all related actions for the current screen.

 

Cloudpipes screen:

This page contains your Pipes that will be used to transfer data to/from your device.

You can perform actions by clicking or long clicking on the list of pipes.

Clicking on an entry in the list will show a dialog with information about that Pipe.

In order to remove a pipe, you will need to long-press on it to get the context menu or press the overflow button on the pipe item.

The ‘Create Shortcut’ option creates a shortcut on the launcher homepage, which causes the pipe to execute when you press it. This feature is only available in the eXTenDeD version.

 

Dropbox Screen:

In this screen you can perform various operations on the files in your Dropbox.

You can download, upload, delete or share files/folders in your Dropbox.

Navigate using the list, in order to go one directory up, click the top-most (Back) entry or hit the back button.

 

Transfers Screen:

Any upload/download history is shown in the transfers screen.

You can monitor the live progress of the transfer here, and view the history of transfers. You can also clear the transfer history, and Abort current transfers if needed.

Clicking on a file, will allow you to open that file from this screen, or show you where it is located.

Common Tasks:

 

Adding a pipe:

Navigate to the ‘Pipes’ screen. You can Add a pipe using, the ‘+’ icon in the title bar, or selecting the ‘Add Pipe’ option in the menu, or by long-pressing a Pipe entry in the list.

This will show the add pipe screen.

Enter a pipe name in the first box. This is simple an identifier, the name can be anything.

Next select whether you want the Pipe to be downloading from Dropbox to your device or uploading to Dropbox from your device.

Then, select the source and destination folders. These will depend on whether you are creating downloading or uploading pipes.

Selecting the Operation type:

  • Move: This removes the file from the source directory after copying. It effectively moves the file to the new location.
  • Copy (overwrite): This option forces the files to be copied each time regardless of whether they have changed.
  • Copy (revision checking): This option checks if the files have changed before copying them. If they have not changed, then they are not copied again.
  • One Way Sync: This option is similar to copy (revision checking), but while it also ensures that the same file is not copied again, it also removes files from the destination directory that have been removed from the source. Therefore it mirrors the source directory into the destination.
  • Selecting the File Filter. You can create your own filters or you can use one of the presets to select which files you want to transfer. You can filter by filename or by file size.

Schedule time. There are three options for scheduling.

  • Schedule every x minutes/hours.
  • Schedule at a fixed time every day
  • Schedule at a fixed time every week

Advanced Options:

There are some advanced options available in the eXTenDeD version. There are:

  • Include subdirectories: This is enabled by default. It makes sure all subdirectories and their files are copied
  • Flatten destination: This option flattens all of the files in the source subdirectories and collects them into a single directory on the destination directory. This can be very useful to organise your files and collect them in one place before sorting them out further.

Editing a pipe:

To edit a pipe, touch the pipe from the list. On the Info dialog, press edit. You can also long-press and select ‘Edit’ from the menu.

Deleting or removing a pipe:

To remove a pipe, you need to long-press the pipe from the list, and select ‘Remove’. This will delete the pipe settings completely.

You can also remove it from the overflow menu of the pipe.

Creating a shortcut:

With the eXTenDeD version of Cloudpipes you can create a shortcut on your launcher which executes the pipe straightaway. You can create this by using the Overflow menu on the pipe, or by long-pressing on the pipe, and selecting ‘Create Shortcut’.

Clearing transfer history:

To clear the transfers history, navigate to the transfers screen. You can click on the ‘X’ icon in the title bar to clear the history. Alternatively, click on the overflow icon in the title bar, to get the menu, and select ‘Clear All’.

Stopping transfers:

To stop/cancel all transfers select the overflow icon in the title bar. Then select ‘Stop Transfers’ from the menu. This will Abort all current transfers in the queue.

Launching downloaded files:

To launch any files you have downloaded/uploaded, navigate to the Transfers screen. Here click on any file to bring up the context menu, and select open, to open the file in the default viewer installed on your device.

Settings Screen:

From the settings screen, you can determine when to allow the pipes to run. (For example. when plugged in to conserve power, or only on WiFi to conserve bandwidth).

You can also disable notifications from the settings menu.

You can set the Default Download Location as well. When in the Dropbox screen, you can download files directly to this location.

Special charachters in filenames: This option is for inter-OS compatibility. Sometimes filenames on other systems like iOS or MacOS have characters that are not supported on Android. These can be either skipped or converted.

Plugins: Cloudpipes supports a plugin framework that can allow some apps to perform actions via Cloudpipes. On this screen, you can enable/disable these apps.

Backup and Restore: This is used to back up and restore your pipe settings. It can be very useful to transfer settings across devices or when you upgrade. The Restore functionality is only available on the eXTenDeD version.

Troubleshooting: There are various troubleshooting options, if things are not working as intended for you, you can send these logs to the developer to look at.

Limitations:

The Dropbox API does not allow files greater than 150MB to be uploaded for now. Therefore Cloudpipes cannot upload files greater than 150MB.